2016 Reading Challenge 


The past few years I’ve challenged myself to read a certain number of books throughout the year, but this year I found an even cooler system. I combined a few different challenges I found to create one that was perfect for me. Add me on goodreads to see my progress and to share book recommendations! Also check this blog post if you want to see my progress throughout the year; I will cross them off as I read them.

Book based on a fairy tale
Cinder by Marissa Meyer ♥♥♥♥♥

National Book Award winner 
The Color Purple 
by Alice Walker

Young Adult bestseller 
Red Queen 
by Victoria Aveyard ♥♥ (Audio)

Classic you should have read by now
Hamlet by William Shakespeare ♥♥♥

A book set in your home state
Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell ♥♥♥♥♥

A book translated to English
Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

A romance set in the future 
The Elite 
by Kiera Cass ♥♥♥♥

A book set in Europe 
A Tale of Two Cities 
by Charles Dickens ♥ (Audio)

A book around 150 pages
Anthem by Ayn Rand

New York Times Bestseller 
Killing Reagan 
by Bill O’Reilly

A book becoming a movie 
Inferno 
by Dan Brown

A book recommended to you 
Rebecca 
by Daphne du Maurier ♥♥♥♥ (Audio)

A self-improvement book
The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin ♥♥♥♥

A book written by a celebrity
Bossypants by Tina Fey ♥♥♥♥ (Audio)

A book with a pink cover 
Going Vintage 
by Lindsey Leavitt

A book with an Australian writer 
The Book Thief 
by Markus Zusak ♥♥♥♥

A book with a woman in the title
I Am Charlotte Simmons by Tom Wolfe

A book I wouldn’t normally read
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini ♥♥♥♥♥

A book by a first-time author 
The Lovely Bones 
by Alice Sebold

A book that I liked the cover 
Tiger’s Curse 
by Colleen Houck ♥♥♥♥

A biography of someone I don’t like
Henry VIII: The King and His Court by Alison Weir

A book about royalty 
The Six Wives of Henry VIII 
by Alison Weir ♥♥♥♥ (Audio)

A fantasy book
Brisingr by Christopher Paolini ♥♥♥♥♥

A book you can read in a day 
Don’t Look Now 
by Daphne du Maurier

Others
The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
The Martian by Andy Weir ♥♥♥♥♥
Yes Please by Amy Poehler
City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare ♥♥♥♥♥
If I Stay by Gayle Forman
The Maze Runner by James Dashner ♥♥♥♥♥
Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver ♥♥♥♥
The Reagan Diaries by Ronald Reagan
Jeter Unfiltered by Derek Jeter
Inkdeath by Cornelia Funke ♥♥♥♥ (Audio)
Chicken Soup for the Soul: Touched by an Angel by Amy Newmark ♥♥♥♥♥
Passion by Lauren Kate ♥♥♥♥
The Martian by Andy Weir ♥♥♥♥♥
American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History by Chris Kyle ♥♥♥♥
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs ♥♥♥♥
Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari ♥♥♥
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes ♥♥♥♥
Before by Anna Todd ♥♥♥♥
Reached by Ally Condie ♥
Let It Out: A Journey Through Journaling by Katie Dalebout ♥♥♥♥
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon ♥♥♥
Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare ♥♥♥♥
The One by Kiera Cass ♥♥♥♥♥
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne ♥♥♥
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas ♥♥♥♥
Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare ♥♥♥♥♥
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart ♥♥♥♥
The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah ♥♥♥♥♥
All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr ♥♥♥
Looking for Alaska by John Green ♥♥♥♥♥
Hissy Fit by Mary Kay Andrews ♥♥♥♥♥ (Audio)
All Summer Long by Dorothea Benton Frank ♥♥♥
The Last Letter From Your Lover by Jojo Moyes ♥♥♥
A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray ♥♥♥♥
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon ♥♥♥♥ (Audio)
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling ♥♥♥♥♥ (Re-read) (Audio)
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling ♥♥♥♥♥ (Re-read) (Audio)

 

5 thoughts on “2016 Reading Challenge 

  1. Laurie says:

    Wow! Pretty impressive. I average one book a week or more. Mainly non-fiction and biographies are my favorite. Where ever I go have my kindle e-reader with me.

    • ashleynicolefashion says:

      Thank you! I’ve read three books this week, but I’m sure that’ll slow down a lot once I get reading assignments for school. I’m trying to read more biographies too! Do you have any recommendations?

      • Laurie says:

        No recommendations since you have your choices down and they are excellent. One book I hope you pass on is Bossy Pant’s by Tina Fey. While I admire her intellect and humor the book is awful and a waste of time. Same for the movie ” Sisters”. Bathroom humor and she and her co star are to old to play nitwits.

Leave a Reply

