Michael Kors Inspired Clutch

Today I gave a presentation about Michael Kors’ fall 2014 collection. My group and I had to up-cycle a wedding dress to look like it fit into his collection. There were many fringe pieces in his collection, and they were often incorporated into the bags. I decided to make a clutch to go along with the dress.

First, I cut a 12″ x 6″ piece of fabric from one of the layers that we cut off of the dress.

20140423-223726.jpg

I then hemmed all of the sides to give the clutch clean edges and sewed the sides of the clutch.

20140423-223830.jpg

I sewed on a beige button and then covered it in lace to incorporate the sheer/lace fabrics used in the collection. Then, I cut another square of the fabric and cut it into strips. I folded the strips into a one and a half inch piece and sewed it together. Finally, I sewed the fringe into the clutch.

20140423-224223.jpg

I was really happy with how it turned out, and I thought it definitely fit into the collection well.

7 thoughts on “Michael Kors Inspired Clutch

  1. KarenSwan says:

    Loved your outfits and been following for a while now. I was wondering if you gave up wearing nylons for good now? Haven’t seen any outfits in months now.

Leave a Reply

