Never Forget…

Although I was only six when it happened, I still remember September 11, 2001. I remember our teacher turning on the television to see what was happening to our country. I remember watching it and not understanding why the planes hit the World Trade Center. I remember the immature kids in my class, reenacting what they saw on the television. Even at that age, I knew what was happening was wrong. Why would people fly planes into buildings? Though that question and the many others I had have been answered since then, it is still hard for me to comprehend why someone would want to take that many innocent lives.

I remember Β going home to my mom and sister and watching to find out more about what happened. I remember my mom being terrified because my dad was on a plane that day. In the days and weeks after 9/11, I remember wanting to help. I gathered what I thought was a lot of my money and donated it to Red Cross.

I was going to write a post commemorating that tragic day ten years ago, but I just found a post about it that I don’t think I can top. Instead, I decided to write about what I remember about that day.

Alexis, the writer of “My Everyday Runway” blog, wrote a really meaningful post about today. Click here to read the post. I highly suggest you read it; she did a really good job with it.

May those who passed away that day rest in peace. β™₯

5 thoughts on “Never Forget…

  1. You are an amazing daughter and person. This was one of the most touching days of my life. I captured it with a photo, showing how a 6 year old was willing to give all she had to help people she didn’t know. You’ll never know how proud you make me. Love you always and forever, Mom

  2. Wow, thank you so much for your kind comments and link to my blog!! That means the world to me. I really enjoyed reading what you remember about that day, and the pictures of the coins and the little-kid handwriting really hits the message home. Thanks again <3

Leave a Reply

